deny ignorance.

Login to account Create an account  

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Scientist exploration of the brain and Immune Responses
Recently, a dear friend of mine ran across a fascinating article at Nature.com which I intend to offer for discussion.  It's a bit difficult because the source, while well-written and professional in its form leaves me with some reservations. I am not exactly sure I would have expanded upon it exactly as she has... but I am just a layman.

Source - Nature.com: Found: the dial in the brain that controls the immune system
Subtitled: Scientists identify the brain cells that regulate inflammation, and pinpoint how they keep tabs on the immune response.

Based Upon Nature.com: A body–brain circuit that regulates body inflammatory responses

The article tries to present that scientists have identified certain cell-types in the brainstem that react to immune 'cues' from the body thus acting as a 'master regulator' of inflammatory responses.

While this description adequately reflects the notional relationship between some signals and the brains' activity, it seems a bit premature to declare it the master regulator in a dynamic electrochemical engine.  But I must give credit to researchers who chose to 'look' at the problem with an eye for what they were missing.  From the article:

The results, published on 1 May in Nature1, suggest that the brain maintains a delicate balance between the molecular signals that promote inflammation and those that dampen it — a finding that could lead to treatments for autoimmune diseases and other conditions caused by an excessive immune response.